2009-Madonna of the Heavens-Aged 16

This is the year of the big canvases (60X80cm). This is also the year I painted “Madonna of the Heavens”, another one of my proud accomplishments.

Madonna of the Heavens, 2009

I painted this a week after I finsihed all 30 of my IGCSE Cambridge exams. I was on my floor all night for nine hours without stopping until the foreground was done. Then I took a short nap and continued the background. I posed as the lady and I used one of my baby pictures to manage the child.

The Freemason, 2009

I gave this painting it’s title because the hand gesture made immitates the Masonic Square and Compass symbol.

Self Portrait as a running child, 2009

Portrait of the Artist’s mother, 2009

Another one for my mum’s birthday.

The Lamp, 2009 (painted in Romania after a walk in the park at night)

Cetatea Neamtului (The Ruins of Neamt), 2009 (Based on a photo of the medieval Romanian ruins before reconstruction)

Follow the flowers, 2009

City Lights, 2009

The Lady of Shalott, 2009 (Based on a painting by John William Waterhouse)

And down the river’s dim expanse

Like some bold seer in a trance,
Seeing all his own mischance—
With glassy countenance
Did she look to Camelot.
And at the closing of the day
She loosed the chain, and down she lay;
The broad stream bore her far away,
The Lady of Shalott.

From part IV of Tennyson’s poem

I generally always had a soft spot for the older realist movements like the Pre-Raphaelite movement. I greatly look up to the works of Waterhouse, William Adolphe Bouguereau and Lawrence Alma-Tadema.

Elf, 2009

The Candle, 2009

The Death of Cleopatra, 2009

My honour was not yielded, but conquered merely – Cleopatra

Leave a Reply

