Tower of David

An impossible image of David and Jonathan in front of Jerusalem’s Tower of David. The tower was built many centuries after David’s death.

The figures are inspired by photographs by Wilhelm von Gloeden. It also features a background from my favorite Israeli photographer Noam Chen. I also read my third novelized version of the life of David but this time as a young man (The Prince’s Psalm).

David is the one sitting in a strong, regal pose, and Jonathan is the one standing in a delicate, feminine manner. They are both crowned with something. This is how it was in the original images but considering that one was a king and the other a prince, it seems appropriate.

Dedicated to my dear, Jewish friend Sara who went to Israel last year. I hope to visit one day too!

dsc09710

Hi Nerissa, This is absolutely beautiful. Thank you for sharing your painting with me and for your kind words. I’m happy you find my work inspirational. I do hope you’d get the opportunity to visit Israel sometime soon, you would definitely have the most memorable experience. If I can help in any way, please feel free to contact me prior. Keep up the beautiful work, and I wish you the very best of luck!

Best, Noam.

Leave a Reply

